I’m Scared

Dear Diary,

Showing that you’re scared is seen as a weakness, but we are all afraid of something. When you’re a child those fears are accepted. Once you’ve reached adulthood it’s as though you really have to hide them away. Where’s the humanity in that?

Women are seen to be more emotional than men. So it may not be a surprise that they may have the most fears. I do think that men are the same. I guess I shouldn’t say that, as their ‘role’ is to be the alpha male and not show any sign of weakness. They have them as much as women do. They just refuse to admit it and those that want to are afraid. They are afraid of what other people would say and how they would look at them after.

If an intruder breaks into your home, the man of the house should check it out. I’m pretty sure the majority in their minds are thinking ‘Why don’t you check it out?’. No one is any weaker than anyone else. Fear is fear and we all have a weakness. So if someone confides in me about their fear I won’t burst out laughing. Even though it can be something silly, but so could mine.

Fear does take hold of you and when you’re faced with it. It’s just like those characters in the movies when you’re shouting at the screen telling them to run. You freeze. It’s as though you’ve been scared for so long, your mind is playing tricks on you. When it’s really there, you panic. What do you do? How do you deal with it? What will happen?

That’s the thing, once you have faced your fear that can be all you needed to overcome it. That’s the hard part. You’ve been trying to avoid it for so long and that may just have been what you need to get rid of it completely. You now know what to expect if it were to present itself again. To be honest if I were locked in a room full of spiders, I still would never want to do that again! We can also have positive looks on our fears. If it’s the fear of letting someone down and then you do, nobody’s perfect you’ve had a good track record so far. If it’s the fear of being left behind, someone will eventually push you forward. If it’s the fear of telling someone how you feel, at least you’ll finally know the real response, as opposed to playing different scenarios in your head driving yourself crazy.

I am scared of a few things. I’m sure I will continue to try and avoid them. I do however have a choice, I can go towards my fear or wait for the fear can come to me. This is fun…

@AmaniVHenry

Leave a Reply

