Scars to your Beautiful

Dear Diary,

It’s crazy when you think about the things you do to yourself to make other people happy. The things you change just so they are satisfied.

The time for that to be relevant. If you want to make that change is when you are trying to improve yourself. To say you are perfect just the way you are would a lie. In your eyes certain people may seem perfect but we all have our flaws. That change should come from yourself. What do you want to change? What do you think needs to me changed? When you look in the mirror you want to recognise the person looking back at you.

The reason why you wouldn’t recognise yourself is because you listened to those people that told you to do this and that. Sure you can say why should I listen to them? Simple, because it’s about you. All these trolls out there may not even know us personally but what they say still hurts. It’s about you, who you are, what you look like, what you sound like. You may say I can brush that off but that’s after you’ve had it buzzing in your mind for however long.

Instead of trying to make other people happy, I’m going to make myself happy. I’m the one living with myself every second of everyday. I want to be proud of me. Admire me. Appreciate me. Some people over do it but hey they have the confidence in themselves that I wish I can have.

People may say lose weight, stop being hot headed, speak up, smile more.. etc. The points that follow my be valid as to why you should do or say certain things, but how will you feel at the end of it. When I start doing it don’t think it’s because you said so. It’s because I decided. There are many people happy with their weight. There are many people happy arguing. In time something will happen when they may change their own mind, until them thanks for the concern.

I want to be happy with who I am. I want to recognise who I am. We are always finding ourselves and learning new things. We are all beautiful in our own way and if we decide to change something to keep us smiling, then so be it. Don’t force me appreciate me the way I appreciate myself. The first person that needs to accept me is me.

@AmaniVHenry

Leave a Reply

